Skip to main
Share this page:


Recognizing Contributions to the Sports Medicine Profession

Every year, AOSSM recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to orthopaedic sports medicine and the Society. Award recipients will be announced at the upcoming Annual Meeting. In the meantime, the following awards are open for nominations/applications.

Nominations Open for the Masters Competition!

2022 Red Jacket Winner, Dr. Matt Provencher, MD

Don't miss your chance to compete for the coveted AOSSM Red Jacket! The annual Masters Competition is a friendly contest among our surgeon members to discuss innovations that had a significant positive impact on your practice. Whether it be a technique or skill you have developed or mastered, this an opportunity to share your wisdom with your colleagues - the winner takes home a stylish red sport coat in recognition of his or her achievement!

Nominate Today

Playmaker Grant Applications Open

This research grant opportunity aims to advance exploratory projects by providing start-up funding, seed-money, bridge/gap funding, or supplemental funding for an ambitious investigative team. Criteria and metrics utilized in the proposed study must be determined by best scientific evidence and designed to improve the understanding of an emerging or novel technology in orthopaedic sports medicine. Studies involving human subjects will receive priority.

Applications accepted to the Playmaker Grant Lab will be invited to present their Research Strategy to a task force from the AOSSM Research Committee at the AOSSM Annual Meeting. Apply by June 1, 2023 to be considered!

Apply on Proposal Central

Congratulations to the 2023 Hall of Fame Inductees

Being inducted into the Hall of Fame is one of the highest honors given to a Society member, and we congratulate the inductees on their great achievements in sports medicine. They will be honored at the Annual Meeting on Friday, July 14.

See all Hall of Fame Inductees

2023 Hall of Fame Inductees

J.W. Thomas Byrd, MD

John Fulkerson, MD

Richard Hawkins, MD

Mary Lloyd Ireland, MD

Stay Tuned!

As we get closer to the Annual Meeting, we will be including more information on other Society awards and research opportunities.

Back to top